Progress Update-Map Builder Layout

Well, for the first time in a while I’ve been designing a new page this week: the Map Builder. I’d forgotten how much work it was to get everything in the right place. The other major task was making new graphics. All of the pages so far have the wooden-table-with-papers-on-it look and I wanted the map builder to have more of an architectural look than a tabletop look. Here’s what I came up with:CampaignBuilder

It’s definitely the best looking page I’ve ever designed. Funny how you get better at something the more you do it. I still want to add a few more sprites to add architectural flavor to it (a square, a compass, etc) and I’ll probably do a lot of playing with the content to make it do all I need it to do.

There’s no functionality yet, but it shouldn’t be too long before I’m at least building dungeons on it.

In mechanics news, I did another sleep deprivation test this week due to a troublesome team engineering project. For a little while I considered taking age into account in tiring over time, but once I started playing handball I realized that the prudence of age seems to make up for the spryness of youth. I don’t think I’ll be making that change. I did decide, however, that the fatigue and tiredness mechanics account for things like back ache and sprained ankles. A failure on a resignation check could mean not just that you were too pooped to go on, but alternately that you tweaked your bad knee and stopped to baby it or that you felt a pang in your shoulder as you raised your sword and thought better of attacking.

This entry was posted in Design, Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

