Progress Update-Accountability

I need to remember that the primary reason I started this blog was to make myself accountable to a broader audience on the progress of Mind Weave. These posts are the most important posts, not the after-thought. I’m sure most of you enjoy the other stuff more, and I’m glad, it’s there for enjoyment, but this is why I’m here, to help me keep the motivation to finish the game.

This week I got some substantial vision limiting code. Still working out some bugs in quadrants 1 and 2, but once I’m done with that I’ll expand the visibility code to quadrants 3 and 4 and start thinking about lighting. Well, maybe. Given the amount of work it was just to make the basics of that first map, I think I may skip lighting for now and work on making a map making page, since I plan to include one anyway and I could use it myself. That would force me to fully define the map formatting which would be helpful.

I’m sorry for the lack of progress in recent months, I got overly excited about getting views on the blog and lost sight of my real goal. Now I’m not saying I’m going to cut other parts of the blog, but I’m going to make some changes. Some Saturdays I’ll do enchanted items instead of spells, since those are quicker. Some Thursdays I’ll do a deity instead of a character, those are much quicker than building a character to level 10 (at least until I’ve coded the leveling). I’m also probably going to do less drawings for Ability Tuesday, but those drawings were always an afterthought anyway.

Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Progress, Rules and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

