Progress Update-Maps and Weather

I’ve been working primarily on two things this week.  The first is map formatting.  I want to develop a document format that allows me to read in all the data I need to display and run a map.  I call the format “Mind Weave Markup Language” or MWML.  It is basic xml and contains all the things a map needs.  Once I have all of the parts implemented, I’ll post a picture of the code, along with the results of the translation.  I plan to create a map-making program that writes these documents, but that will be a while.

The second is a weather simulation algorithm.  It’s an effort I believe I can reuse as the project for my Stochastic Processes class.  It is intended to create (semi-)realistic weather patterns with a variety of climates and seasons.  These patterns would be based on parameters that can be altered through Mind Weave’s Magic System, allowing players to effect the weather with their magic.  That is the primary reason I am so keen to do it this way.  Ironically, today’s Darths and Droids (see the note) discusses the danger of a system like this to games.  I need to consider this warning, but I do intend for this system to add to the game’s gritty realism, and Master Weaver fiat can always keep the players alive.

What do you think of Mind Weave?  Anything you think we could do to make it more user friendly or appealing to you?  Let us know below!

This entry was posted in Coding, Design, Progress, Rules, Spells and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

